Update

Hurray for another long hiatus! A few good things have happened since Thanksgiving and here they are!

  • Uncle Visit

My uncle came to visit me the day after thanksgiving. It was so great to see him again (I had seen him a few months ago when I was in London). It was great to catch up and I was also able to see his concert with Curtis Stigers! It was such a fun concert and it was beautiful.

  • IES Farewell Dinner

So between my Uncle’s visit and the IES Dinner, there was about a week of fun/hard Gaiety work. Then IES had a farewell dinner for all of us. We got out of class and went to this really fancy restaurant by the President’s house! It was so great to see everyone again after being unable to hang out for so long.

  • Mom arrival

So after the dinner, there was another week or so of work and stress. As the semester was coming to a close, my mom came over to Ireland to see me for my last few days of classes! It was so great to see her again after 3 months of being apart. She was able to stay in my flat until we left so we got to spend a lot of time together. We got to do all the things I had wanted to do, but so far hadn’t had the time to. After classes ended we spent a day in Dublin. St. Patrick’s Cathedral was surprisingly disappointing. I thought it would be a bit more cathedral-y and a little less…museum-y? Even Notre Dame was more sacred than that. We saw the Book of Kells and the Long Room which I really enjoyed! Really made me wanna be a librarian just so I could explore the Long Room lol. After our slightly over priced lunch at the Hairy Lemon (which I told her seemed kinda touristy), we popped over to the National Archeology Museum to see the bog bodies and read up on the battle of Clontarf. After that we went to the Guinness Storehouse (FINALLY!!!) It was really cool and interesting to learn about the history of Guinness. I really liked the layout of the museum and how it made beer making and history interesting! I also appreciated how it told you exactly where to go at any moment lol. We then stopped by the flat to drop our stuff off (includingaguinnessglassthatimayhavetakenfromthestorehousenoonestoppedmeok), we headed to dinner at Nandos!

The next day we took a morning trip to Malahide Castle! I had heard very little about it, but it was really cool to see it. I always love going to castles! There’s so much life and history in them which I love. During that trip we also went to Howth! This was my second time and I was able to find the exact place where we had started our IES hike up the hill just 3 months before. After we got back, we went to the GPO (again, FINALLY) to visit the museum about the 1916 Rising. I’ve heard bits and pieces about the Rising, so it was nice to finally get more of the story. We then walked to Dublinia only to discover it was closed. We decided to try Christ Church and that was closed as well, even though it was supposed to be open for another hour! This lead to me getting progressively more annoyed as we walked to Arthur’s, the first pub I had ever been to in Dublin! We walked in and there were no seats…cue even more annoyance. But we finally sat and got our dinner which was great. I ended up spending the rest of the night with a few of the remaining GSA students.

The next morning we got up early for a tour to Galway, which I slept through most of! I was so frustrated with myself. I had been wanting to see the Irish countryside since I got here and I slept through a majority of our drive! After a brief stop in Moneygall, the home of Obama’s Irish heritage, we arrived at the Cliffs of Moher! It was so fantastic to see these amazing cliffs in person. I got super close to the edge (#rebel) and it really was amazing. We then got back on the bus and started making our way to Galway, stopping briefly at a beach of limestone rocks which I ran/climbed/jumped all over (Call me goat kid!). We arrived in Galway (after I fell asleep AGAIN) and we got to walk up and down the shopping area. It was very similar to Grafton Street, but much smaller? Almost like St. Augustine. After a bit of shopping, we headed back to Dublin (where I fell asleep AGAIN. s2g riding in a moving vehicle when I’m tired is my kryptonite). We did a little more shopping before we stopped in O’Shea’s for the evening, taking in a night of live music and dancing.

And now you’re caught up! More to come soon!

Leave a Reply

