Thanksgiving

So today was Thanksgiving. Since I’m in Ireland, no one really celebrates it here. It’s always nice to have the locals wish us happy thanksgiving, but it’s not the same as sitting down for the giant meal at 3 in the afternoon after spending all morning preparing and watching the Thanksgiving day parade! Now I’m not a huge fan of Thanksgiving due to it’s historical context, but I appreciate it for the idea of being thankful for what you have.

Thankfully, IES had us covered.

Tonight we all got together for a wonderful Thanksgiving Potluck. It was the first time in a while that IES, GSA, and Trinity students all got together in a long time. We all got together after our classes and sat down for our full fledged Thanksgiving meal. Sure it wasn’t exactly like home, but it was great for almost everyone’s first Thanksgiving away from home. A lot of us were a bit homesick, thinking about all the food we usually made and all the traditions we had, but tonight was fantastic anyway.

We all got to go around and say what we were thankful for as we ate our piles of food. This is what I said:

I’m thankful for my family, of course. I’m thankful for my IES parents. For my teachers both at home and here. I’m thankful for my time in Ireland and all the crazy experiences I’ve had because of it that I wouldn’t have had otherwise.

Of course I said more (I tend to babble), but that’s the main idea of it.

I hope you all have a safe and lovely Thanksgiving if you celebrate it. I also want to send love and support to the people of Standing Rock. I wish there was a better way I could help in your constant fight for your rights, but for now I want you to know that we are standing with you in your fight from all the way here in Dublin.

Happy Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

